Trump’s travel ban goes into effect tonight; here’s what you need to know

It’s been a long, hard fought battle for the president’s travel ban on six Muslim-majority nations, but it’s finally happening, thanks to a Supreme Court decision that took place earlier this week.

Along with the measure kicking in, there are also some new visa criteria listed in the ban.

The Washington Examiner is reporting:

The Trump administration has set new visa criteria for the six mainly Muslim countries, according to the Associated Press.

The report, based off a State Department cable sent to U.S. embassies and consulates on Wednesday, explains the new guidelines which lays out the close family or business ties needed for an exemption to the ban.

The ban will go into effect at 8 p.m. Thursday, according to a separate report from Bloomberg.

The six Muslim-majority countries in Trump’s original travel ban are Syria, Iran, Somalia, Yemen, Sudan and Libya.

The main purpose of the ban is to encourage these nations and their governments to take action to stamp out the influence of radical Islamic terror groups in their countries, while also helping to prevent “lone-wolf” terrorists from gaining access to America.

This measure sends a clear message that there are consequences for harboring terrorists, and if you want to be connected to our country, then you need to play by the rules.

It also serves to assert our strength as a nation on the world stage.

It’ll be interesting to see what happens with the decision this fall when SCOTUS starts hearing oral arguments about the ban.

[Note: This article was written by Michael Cantrell]

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of