Here’s the official GOP Trump endorsement list: Yes; HELL no; Yes, but only if…

After Donald Trump vanquished his remaining GOP competitors, Ted Cruz and John Kasich, last week in Indiana, GOP leaders have come to their day of reckoning. Will they or won’t they support the GOP nominee.

Pretty much the entire Bush family (George H. W., George W. and Jeb) have said hell no and won’t attend the convention. Neither will Mitt Romney nor Lindsey Graham (Big loss? Eh…no). Paul Ryan waffled, saying he’s “not ready” to support Trump. Marco Rubio hasn’t made any comment, but rumor has it he could be on the short list for veep. But what of everyone else currently in office?

Politico has compiled this list of governors, senators and congressmen. Will this have “down-ballot” implications for those up for re-election this cycle? Time will tell. And people can always change their minds. But for the moment, here’s where it stands:

For Trump (have fully endorsed)

Rep. Lou Barletta (R-Pa.)
Gov. Phil Bryant (R-Miss.)
Rep. Michael Burgess (R-Texas)
Sen. Richard Burr (R-N.C.)
Gov. Chris Christie (R-N.J.)
Rep. Chris Collins (R-N.Y.)
Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.)
Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-Tenn.)
Sen. Bob Dole (former R-Kans.)
Rep. John J. Duncan Jr. (R-Tenn.)
Rep. Renee Ellmers (R-N.C.)
Gov. Mary Fallin (R-Okla.)
Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-Calif.)
Rep. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.)
Rep. Peter King (R-N.Y.)
Gov. Paul LePage (R-Maine)
Rep. Tom Marino (R-Pa.)
Rep. Candice Miller (R-Mich.)
Rep. Jeff Miller (R-Fla.)
Rep. Steven Palazzo (R-Miss.)
Gov. Mike Pence (R-Ind.)
Rep. Tom Reed (R-N.Y.)
Gov. Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.)
Gov. Brian Sandoval (R-Nev.)
Gov. Rick Scott (R-Fla.)
Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.)
Rep. Bill Shuster (R-Pa.)
Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-N.Y.)

#NeverTrump (will not endorse or vote for)
Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.)
Gov. Charlie Baker (R-Mass.)
Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-Fla.)
Rep. Bob Dold (R-Ill.)
Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.)
Rep. Richard Hanna (R-N.Y.)
Sen. Dean Heller (R-Nev.)
Rep. Reid Ribble (R-Wis.)
Rep. Scott Rigell (R-Va.)
Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-Fla.)
Rep. Mark Sanford (R-S.C.)
Sen. Ben Sasse (R-Neb.)/

Those who have said they will support nominee
Gov. Greg Abbott (R-Texas)
Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.)
Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.)
Rep. Mike Bishop (R-Ariz.)
Rep. Diane Black (R-Tenn.)
Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.)
Sen. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.)
Gov. Terry Branstad (R-Iowa)
Gov. Sam Brownback (R-Kan.)
Sen. Dan Coats (R-Ind.)
Sen. Thad Cochran (R-Miss.)
Sen. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.)
Sen. Tom Cotton (R-Ark.)
Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho)
Sen. Steve Daines (R-Mont.)
Gov. Jack Dalrymple (R-N.D.)
Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-Fla.)
Gov. Doug Ducey (R-Ariz.)
Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.)
Sen. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa)
Sen. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.)
Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (R-Tenn.)
Sen. Cory Gardner (R-Colo.)
Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-S.C.)
Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa)
Gov. Nikki Haley (R-S.C.)
Rep. Gregg Harper (R-Miss.)
Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah)
Gov. Gary Herbert (R-Utah)
Sen. John Hoeven (R-N.D.)
Gov. Asa Hutchinson (R-Ark.)
Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.)
Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.)
Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.)
Sen. Mark Kirk (R-Ill.)
Rep. John Kline (R-Minn.)
Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.)
Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.)
Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
Rep. Kristi Noem (R-S.D.)
Gov. Butch Otter (R-Idaho)
Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.)
Sen. David Perdue (R-Ga.)
Sen. Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)
Rep. Phil Roe (R-Tenn.)
Sen. Mike Rounds (R-S.D.)
Majority Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.)
Sen. Tim Scott (R-S.C.)
Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.)
Sen. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.)
Sen. Thom Tillis (R-N.C.)
Sen. Pat Toomey (R-Pa.)
Gov. Scott Walker (R-Wis.)
Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)
Rep. Don Young (R-Alaska)
Rep. Ryan Zinke (R-Mont.)

Made a pledge to support the eventual nominee as candidates (Bush and Graham have already reneged on that one)
Former Gov. Jeb Bush (R-Fla.) (per RNC pledge)
Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) (per RNC pledge)
Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) (per RNC pledge)
Gov. John Kasich (R-Ohio) (per RNC pledge)

Not there yet
Gov. Matt Bevin (R-Ky.)
Rep. Mike Coffman (R-Colo.)
Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine)
Rep. Barbara Comstock (R-Va.)
Sen. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.)
Gov. Susana Martinez (R-N.M.)
Sen. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)
House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Wis.)
Rep. Ann Wagner (R-Mo.)

No comment
Rep. Rod Blum (R-Iowa)
Gov. Larry Hogan (R-Md.)
Rep. John Katko (R-N.Y.)
Sen. James Lankford (R-Okla.) (source tells POLITICO he would back Republican nominee)
Gov. Rick Snyder (R-Mich.)

[Note: This article was written by Michele Hickford]

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of